Supporting Gamers & Intellectual Hobbyists Throughout Maryland

Curious but Apprehensive

stevethesteve
    Level 2 Poster

Curious but Apprehensive

Post by stevethesteve on 2010-10-15, 10:45

I’ve never played D&D, or any table top games for that matter. I’ve always enjoyed video game RPGs, and the idea of table top roll playing has always intrigued me, but I’ve never really had an opportunity to play it. I knew a few people in high school who played it but the nerdy stigma and all the math scared me off. I recently started listening to the Penny Arcade Podcast where they play D&D with Wil Wheaton and that’s got me interested again.
    So I’m not really good at math, particularly mental math, but I love the idea of creating characters and sending them on adventures. I’m a student at UMBC who live in Baltimore near Catonsville, I’m curious in trying out D&D but still a little unsure if it’s really for me. So yeah I'm just kind of putting myself out there, if anyone in the area is interested in trying to convert a complete noob (do D&D guys use the word noob?) to the game, then I'm willing.
    Adam Dray
    Founding Member
    Founding Member

The Waste Character
    Name: Redcap
    Race: Kenku
    Class: Sorcerer

Re: Curious but Apprehensive

Post by Adam Dray on 2010-10-15, 10:55

Hey, I run a D&D 4th Edition game every other Thursday (next week) at my place in Owings Mills. We can teach you the basics of 4E in fifteen minutes, and help you make a character in--let's say 30 minutes.

Half of my game is combat and the other half is politics and scheming and other daily life stuff that the players care about. The non-combat play is stuff that no one needs any experience to do. You'll get it immediately.

Wanna give it a try? No commitments; just try us out once and see if it's for you.

You can read all about the world we play in, Caldera, on its Obsidian Portal pages. PM or email adamdray@gmail.com for more info.

And really, no math necessary.
    dhlevine